Buy the Brooks B17 Saddle on http://www.nashbar.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Brooks B17 Saddle image
 
(based on 19 ratings)
Brand: Brooks
Located in: Bike Parts & Components, Saddles, Saddles
Back by popular demand, Brooks bike saddles are the most requested item that you, our customers are asking for. The "Classic" B17 Brooks saddle has an all-leather cover with steel rivets and tension adjuster. When "broken in," Brooks bike seat saddles are considered by many to be the most comfortable on the market. The Standard width (6 3/4") is ideal for commuting, long distance trekking and general purpose riding. Steel rails. 518g. (weights vary slightly, due to cover thickness). Specify Color: Black or Honey BK-B17-(color)
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 19 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(5), Durable(14)
Cons:
Heavy(8)
Best Uses:
All around(11), Commuting(13), Long rides(11), Road racing(3)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(13)
 
Best saddle for touring
By PharmDeamonVerified Reviewer from Tulsa on 11/25/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
All Around, Commuting, Long Rides
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Brooks Brooks B17 Saddle:

I have 16,000+ miles on my B-17. It is a fantastic saddle for long touring, centuries, and recreational riding. Absorbes the big bumps and keeps you dry in the heat. Just gets better over the years.

 
Everything they say is true...
By PetrVerified Reviewer from Chicago on 10/4/2010
Pros:
Durable, Good Padding
Best Uses:
All Around, Commuting, Long Rides, Mountain Biking, Road Racing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Brooks Brooks B17 Saddle:

Thought you guys were a weird cult, riding a 100+-year-old design & claiming it was comfortable. I was very, very wrong. Out of the box it felt good, then only, impossibly, got better with every use. Didn't use any of the special break-in goo, didn't adjust the rails, haven't done anything but ride it. Unbelievable. I'm converted -- I'll be a Brooks rider for life.

 
Bought one in 1973, still using it
By RickVerified Reviewer from Broomfield, CO on 8/10/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Shapes to fit you
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Long Rides, Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Brooks Brooks B17 Saddle:

I've tried the newfangled plastic saddles - Selle Italia Flite and such-like. Went back to leather. My B17 from 1973 now has some fatigue breaks where the rails join the steel piece which forms the rear edge of the saddle, but the only effect the breaks have is squeaking. This saddle outlasted the original Raleigh 531 frame it came on and is now on a Klein frame from 1993. It went 250 Km from Avignon to Nice in May2010

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The sun never sets on the British empire
By Luigi the shoe cobblerVerified Reviewer from Cincinnati, Ohio on 8/7/2010
Pros:
Durable, Highest quality
Cons:
Slightly heavy
Best Uses:
All Around, Commuting, Long Rides, Road Racing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Brooks Brooks B17 Saddle:

Have been riding these as new and used saddles on road bikes for 33 years.Have a Brooks pro, a 2010 Brooks professional, a narrow B17 and a 6 1/4" wide B17.These are a worthy investment to ride on.

 
After high end, try this on your low end
By RPS from New York, NY on 7/17/2010
Pros:
Dries Quickly, Durable
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
All Around, Commuting, Long Rides, Road Racing
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Brooks Brooks B17 Saddle:

I am very competitive. I have a couple of nice bikes and I ride and run because I love to. I have had some very high end Italian seats, and some very technically advanced American seats, but the British win this race. The secret is the way it supports your sit bones. It is like a hammock (my bikes are now described as arm chairs). There is no pressure on your soft tissue at all. I have Black on one and Honey on the other and frankly they weigh less than a couple packs of Gu or a beer. Invest in your backside, then go on a 4 hour training session and check your smile in the mirror.

 
Still breaking it in but I like it
By BlueGrassBlazer from Louisville, Ky on 6/17/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable
Cons:
Heavy, Long Break In
Best Uses:
All Around, Commuting, Long Rides
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Brooks Brooks B17 Saddle:

I'm not sure just how all these people loved their Brooks "right out of the box". It was hard as a brick and is taking a long time to break in. Good news though is that its finally starting to break in and I'm feeling the difference. I can finally imagine just how good this will feel when it is fully broken in. Up to that point though, it's a pain. It was painful during the early rides this spring though part of that is just getting used to a saddle again. I also had to fiddle with the set up and have it right now.
I should have soaked it for several days like others did. I'd definitely recommend the Brooks B17 but avoid the break in and just soak it.

 
Brooks B17 Saddle mens
By EcoSpinner from West Palm Beach, FL on 4/3/2010
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Long Rides
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Brooks Brooks B17 Saddle:

Love my saddle! I rode 300 miles on it when it was brand new after soaking it in baseball glove oil for 3 days (upside down in a cookie sheet). My saddle was soooo comfortable I didn't remember I was riding on a new saddle. My girlfriend curiously asked me how did I feel riding on my new saddle after we had already riden 300+ miles during an event. I looked at her so puzzled...she said...YOUR NEW SADDLE HOW IS IT?! I forgot I changed my saddle. Guess that's telling of the Brooks saddle!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
100 years old, still can't improve on it
By Flying FortressVerified Reviewer from Santa Fe, NM on 3/6/2010
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
All Around, Long Rides
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Brooks Brooks B17 Saddle:

This saddle comes from a bygone era, when bikes were steel, and not everybody was a racing wannabe. As such, this saddle may not work with your carbon fibered, sub 20lb wonder. It's too bad, because there just isn't a more comfortable saddle to do a century on. The trick of this saddle is, when you first sit on it, shift your weight rearward just a tad, until you feel the weight go to your sit bones (your ischia), NOT your soft tissue. You should feel like your bones are suspended on a (rather too hard) leather trampoline. THAT'S the secret of riding this saddle. You sit in this manner on it long enough, the leather will form two little indentations where your sit bones are. That's what 'breaking in' is all about. Once this happens, you can never go back to any blob of plastic again. I kid you not. I've actually passed over bikes that won't accomodate my Brooks B17, because not every one will.
For one thing, the rails are shorter than most saddles now, and wider at the rear, so not all seatposts can accomodate this. Check it out with your seatpost, BEFORE you buy, if possible.
These saddles are also higher maintenance than blob of plastic saddles, but they're worth it. You have to keep them hydrated with ProofRide (mink oil works just fine, as does neetsfoot oil in a pinch). You can't let them get soaked while you're riding a long ride, or they'll sag. But, especially if you get the honey colored one, and you treat it with ProofRide, it'll become more and more beautiful as it ages, like your wife. Treat your B17 right, she might be with you as long as your wife. You won't stray to any blob of plastic, once you've broken in your B17. You might even find your whole philosophy of riding changing, as you find yourself enjoying the ride more, because you're so comfortable, that you actually enjoy the view, and just pure beingness, and lose interest in your time. Worthwhile.

 
Last a lifetime
By NiteowlVerified Reviewer from Grand Rapids, Michigan on 11/21/2009
Pros:
Durable
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Brooks Brooks B17 Saddle:

Brooks saddles cost a little more and might take a little longer to break in; but unless you are in an accident and mess it up, this saddle might outlast you and your bike ! Ride on !

Cheers !

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Didn't work for me
By Physics ManVerified Reviewer from Manheim, PA on 10/6/2009
Pros:
Good support to sit bones, No presssure soft tissues
Cons:
Not Enough Padding
Best Uses:
All Around, Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Brooks Brooks B17 Saddle:

I have two Brooks in B-17. Both with over 1500 miles. I used Proofide, then in desperation tried neatsfoot oil on one of them. Both still hard as a rock and have bruised my butt at the sit bone on one side and had several infected saddle sores. Tried every position and tilt. Switched to a Terry Liberator on my commuting bike (25 miles a day) and can ride again without pain. But, they are worth the try, seem to work for most people. My wife likes her springed model.

 
Your own personal butt hammock
By TellyhoVerified Reviewer from Boston, MA on 8/27/2009
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Brooks Brooks B17 Saddle:

No one actually needs to hear from me that the B17 is comfy. It does take a looooong time to break in, but it's worth it. Oh, and did I mention it's heavy (like the weight of 5 fiziks?) But it's what you want for a daylong ride: absorbs sweat, cushions from road noise, and fits like a glove. Wait until it's [$]with 20% off coupon.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The cure for the 75 mile butt
By RandonneurVerified Reviewer from Montana on 7/31/2009
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
All Around
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Brooks Brooks B17 Saddle:

After 75 miles my butt would just give up-no matter what saddle I tried. It made anything beyond a century very painful. Then I got my B-17. Right out of the box it was more comfortable than any other saddle I've used. Now I'm a randonneur-I can go all day and all night with no saddle issues at all. The B-17 has expanded my cycling capabilities beyond anything I could have ever imagined.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
My butt is in heaven.
By TomVerified Reviewer from West Lafayette, IN on 7/19/2009
Pros:
Durable, Incredibly comfortable
Best Uses:
Long Rides
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Brooks Brooks B17 Saddle:

I got a new bike last year. The seat on it was terrible, so I dug out an old Avocet Touring 2 that I used to be happy with and put that on, and it was much better than the seat the bike came with. My butt was not happy after about half an hour on the bike, though.

I smeared 8 grams (kind of a lot) of Proofide on my new Brooks B-17 after its arrival and let it dry until the next day, then put it on the bike. The Proofide made it noticeably less hard. The saddle was VERY comfortable right from the get-go.

Unless you're very happy with your non-Brooks saddle, you should try a Brooks. It's like Pascal's gamble, on a small scale. At worst, you won't like it and be out a few bucks, but there's a good chance you ( or at least your butt) will go to heaven.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Comfortable right out of the box!
By Ghengis JungVerified Reviewer from East Lansing, MI on 7/18/2009
Pros:
Ages Well, Beautiful, Comfortable, Durable, Improves with use
Best Uses:
All Around, Commuting, Long Rides
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Brooks Brooks B17 Saddle:

The B-17 is the most comfortable saddle I've ridden, right out of the box! While the saddle does break in over time, it is comfortable from the moment you first sit on it, due to the way the sides of the saddle flex. A proper setup is important - you may find that you position the saddle and yourself differently, but once you've gotten the B-17 positioned correctly, there's nothing better. I've ridden several centuries on a B-17 in its first 1000 miles, and it just keeps getting better.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
No other saddle compares
By TJVerified Reviewer from Minot ND on 7/17/2009
Best Uses:
All Around
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Brooks Brooks B17 Saddle:

Straight out of the box the B17 is the most comfortable saddle I have ever ridden. I only commute 10 miles round trip daily, but comfort is a must. It complements my Specialized Allez in every way. I am definitely another Brooks success story.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfection
By Johnny RebelVerified Reviewer from Maine on 7/9/2009
Pros:
Dries Quickly, Durable
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
All Around, Commuting, Long Rides
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Brooks Brooks B17 Saddle:

There's a reason this saddle has been around, basically unchanged, for something like 100 years. It conforms to your specific derriere, and that's a good thing in the long run. It took me 7 rides or so to break it in, maybe less. Now I don't even think about it. If you ride in the rain, invest in a waterproof cover, they're inexpensive, and keep the saddle from getting water spots. Plus, if you park in a high-crime area, a non-descript rain cover won't attract so much attention. This saddle makes any bike look like a million bucks, and it does similar wonders for your rump.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Like a glove
By FreddyBeachVerified Reviewer from Fredericton, New Brunswick Canada on 5/7/2009
Pros:
Attention to detail, Comfort, Craftsmanship, durability, Great Design, Quality materials, Style
Cons:
A lttle heavier than some
Best Uses:
Casual and long distance, Commuting
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Brooks Brooks B17 Saddle:

I had a Brooks B17 during my teenage years and never found another that matched the comfort and workmanship of this saddle. The break-in period is not long as some say and it is hastened by using the Proofide that comes with the optional kit. It may be a little heavier than some, but it's a small price to pay for being able to ride for hours in complete comfort.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Touring seat
By Big bike touristVerified Reviewer from Lerici, Italy on 4/27/2009
Pros:
Classic, Comfort
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Commuting, Touring
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Brooks Brooks B17 Saddle:

Finally decided to bite the bullet and buy a nice new saddle for my touring bike last year, since then I've bought another for the commuter. The first feel of the B17 is daunting - board-stiff, but a 5 hour break-in ride left me in much better shape than my old soft saddle and I've had no problems since.

Buy the Brooks wax when you buy the saddle, and read up on how to soften it up before first use.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Classic makes grade in the 21st century
By Checkmate 115Verified Reviewer from Schenectady NY...The Wind Turbine City on 4/19/2009
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Brooks Brooks B17 Saddle:

This saddle transformed my Trek 7.2 into a long-distance machine. I have a vintage Schwinn Super Sport with a Brooks seat and I kept wondering why it was such a better ride than my Trek....then I invested in a new Brooks seat. Now the Trek is a sweet ride too. The leather seat breaks in very easily and after that....just wonderful.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Nashbar All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.