Buy the Nashbar Comfort Road Tire on http://www.nashbar.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nashbar Comfort Road Tire image
 
(based on 17 ratings)
Brand: Nashbar
Located in: Bike Parts & Components, Tires, 700x28 to 700x45 Touring/Trekking/Hybrid
This road bike tire is designed for hybrid and touring bikes to be used on the pavement, dirt roads or light trails. Directional tread pattern ensures optimal performances on both the front and rear road tires. Black tread with black sidewalls. Max psi: 85psi (700x32), 80psi (700x35), 65psi (700x38). Wire bead. Wt.: 503g (700x35).
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.9 stars
(based on 17 reviews)
88% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(12), Excellent grip(13), Good cornering(9), Low rolling resistance(8), Puncture resistant(4)
Best Uses:
Commuting(12)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(11), Casual/ recreational(3)
Was this a gift?:
No(7)
 
It's a good buy when on sale.
By Fat Man on a Bicycle from Tacoma, WA on 8/15/2011
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering
Cons:
Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Comfort Road Tire:

I racked up a lot of mileage on my bikes when I was younger, but over the last ten years I cut way back on my mileage and gained a lot of weight. I needed a fatter tire and picked the 700x32. As others have said the tires are smaller than their markings indicate. It seems more like a 700x28, which is alright, but keep that in mind when picking your tire size. The other problem is a high rate of tread wear. I have less than a 1000 miles on them and I already see the fabric showing through here and there. It's worse on the rear so maybe rotating the tires front to back every 300 or 400 miles to even out the wear would be wise. At the regular price it's not good buy, but when they're on sale they're worth it.

 
Just what I wanted
By FarmerTed from New England on 7/26/2011
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, PRICE, Tread Design
Cons:
Incorrect size
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Comfort Road Tire:

The tread design is very close to what I was trying to replace. The price was a nice feature as well. As others have stated, they are narrower than the size stamped on them. My 38's are really 33's. I can't say how durable they are, but they seem to be built fairly well. I'll repost if they don't hold up.

 
Good budget tire
By w123houston from Houston, TX on 7/18/2011
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Comfort Road Tire:

I bought these tires to replace the worn 28c tires on my Jamis Coda Sport. I went with 35c because i'm 220 lbs and the 28c's were getting pinched whenever i went on bumps. These tires from Nashbar are more comfy. I primarily ride on the road, but encounter gravel and side walks as well so these tires are perfect for my style of riding. I do notice my speed has dropped with these tires, but that doesnt bother me at all. The tires are as pictured. What you see is what you get.

 
Commuting tire
By GMZ from Madison, WI on 7/8/2011
Pros:
Durable, Sturdy Tire
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Comfort Road Tire:

A good sturdy tire, onsale, about 1/3 the price, [...]

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best tire I've ever had
By Dave from Chicago, IL on 6/15/2011
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Flat resistant, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Noisy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Light trails, Rain
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Comfort Road Tire:

If I was to bike across the country, I would choose this tire. I wish I had bought it years ago when I first bought my bike - it would have saved a lot of time and hitchhiking. It beats tires at 3 times the price.

It is true that the tire is slightly smaller than advertised - the 32Cs are actually 28Cs, but my old tires were 28C so I didn't mind. One reviewer mentioned that he had trouble getting the tires on his rims, however I found that I could mount the tires with my hands.

Although it is not obvious from the picture, the tires have a raised bead around the center for road riding, meaning that it feels like a road tire on the road. The knobs on the side play more into the equation when going through dirt and loose gravel. I do a lot of riding on loose dirt trains, and I've never slid out with these tires. They can be a little bit noisy on very smooth roads, but when the excess rubber from the mouldings wears away in about the first hundred miles of "breaking them in," the noise ceases.

They are a bit heavy, but I don't think they slow me down too much. For one thing, I don't have to stop for flats anymore. I used to get a flat tire every month or so, but I've never gotten a flat with these after several hundred miles of travel. I can also go faster on rough surfaces than I could with my road slicks without worrying about damaging my bike. Sure, I wouldn't use them for a race, but for the day-to-day ride, they are unbeatable, especially at the price.

After going through three different sets of tires, including ones with Kevlar belts, I can confidently say that I will be sticking to these tires. I almost don't have to carry around tubes anymore.

 
have used them forever
By doc from gilroy ca. on 5/15/2011
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Punctures Easily
Best Uses:
Old guy just riding aroun
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Comfort Road Tire:

low cost reliable tire

 
Wears kind of fast
By Mr Pink57Verified Reviewer from Apple Valley, MN on 4/11/2011
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering
Cons:
Wears Easily
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Comfort Road Tire:

I've ridden this tire maybe 300 miles and the rear is already starting to loose tread. The front is getting worn but obviously not nearly as bad. These are all road miles with maybe quarter mile gravel here and there.

I gave them 3 stars on how good of a deal they are but probably won't be buying them again.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great tire!
By panmanVerified Reviewer from El Paso, TX on 1/20/2011
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Low Rolling Resistance
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Comfort Road Tire:

These are great! I probably put 250 miles on these on and off road, and they look the same as when I bought them! They aren't puncture resistant, but where I live, nothing is. Like other reviews say, the width is less than they say.

 
Great all terrain/weather tire.
By LarryVerified Reviewer from California on 10/19/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering
Best Uses:
Commuting, Rain, Sprinting
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Comfort Road Tire:

This is a great tire, has proven itself on rainy days with its excellent grip, and has been beneficial for the cracks and bumps in the pavement. I ride this tire over 150 miles a week and they have been wonderful since i mounted them. Great at a steady pace and corners amazingly, ride on grass, uneven pavement, and dirt without fear of giving out. I wish I would of gotten these tires sooner.

[0 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Way narrower than spec
By Frazzled from Albany, New York on 6/24/2010
Cons:
Hard too mount, Too narrow
Best Uses:
Road only no off road
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Comfort Road Tire:

I haven't used these tires yet but I'm giving them one star because:

(1) This is the hardest tire I've ever mounted. Finally had to heat it with a hair dryer to get it on.

(2) The 700 x 32 actually measures about 28 mm wide. The above reviewer who mentioned this is absolutely correct. I bought these tires to replace some 30s, hoping to ride a little on dirt roads. They are in fact substantially narrower than the 30s I took off. Big disappointment, after how much work it took to get them on.

(3) The correct direction of the tread is not obvious. There should be an arrow on the tire.

 
excellent tire!
By Jack from LA beaches, CA on 6/15/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Comfort Road Tire:

This tire is inexpensive so I did not expect so much. Nicely balanced, excellent grip on smooth asphault, yet allows me to ride on beach sand and grass. For a 32 that's not bad. Oh, and I can jump curbs. The tires are the best thing I did since buying the bike, wish I had got them sooner. Only drawback is that the "N" is too small! Buy it!

 
good tire,size not exact
By matratVerified Reviewer from upper michigan on 4/15/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Inexspensive, Low Rolling Resistance
Best Uses:
Commuting, gravel roads, Hard trails
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Comfort Road Tire:

tire size not true, 700x38(labled) measures 700x32, installed. tire has quality for the price otherwise.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Tough Tire at a Great Price
By BlairVerified Reviewer from Reno, NV on 3/16/2010
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Mixed Use, Recreational Cyclocross
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Comfort Road Tire:

I have used this as a Winter training tire on both a geared road bike and on converted single speed. It takes the punishment in the desert and fire road rides, corners well enough in the loose stuff, has enough beef to resist damage, and gives lots of traction where I thought it would slip. It even does better than I would hope for the single track trails (Think Cyclocross riding where you would usually ride a mountain bike).

On club rides, if I keep the PSI high, I can easily maintain tempo in pacelines, though with the extra weight I can't really accelerate that well... but hey, it's a training tire for me.

And after the snow plows have laid the coarse sand down for snow and ice, there are no worries for riding on that sandy, gritty and sometimes messy melt on the road shoulders. It also works pretty well in a couple of inches of fresh snow.

 
Rugged, cheap and versatile
By Bandana ManVerified Reviewer from Glen Rock, PA on 12/9/2009
Pros:
Durable, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Comfort Road Tire:

I've been looking for a good, cheap and durable tire for commuting use for a while. [...] Made in Thailand, this tire is just the ticket for a low maintenance but adequate road/trail tire. It has a narrow and smooth center rib which seems to do most of the work when riding on pavement in a straight line. More tread to the side to work in looser conditions and when cornering on dirt or gravel. The cycling equivalent of a good 5 cent cigar.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Raced cyclocross on these!Worked good!
By gohardorgohomebob from Amery,Wi on 10/25/2009
Pros:
Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Low Rolling Resistance
Best Uses:
Commuting, Cyclocrossbaby
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Comfort Road Tire:

Used these on the tandem on Madeline Island,they worked fine on gravel roads.also on sand roads in the Adirondacks,agin,no problems.Noticeably slower than street tires,but still OK for touring.Pump them up HARD for street use,like 100psi,no worries.So then I needed some tires for my new cyclocross bike..didn't wanna spend a lot,so I used these,and on a dry fast hilly course with grass,pavement,fast downhills,these worked fine.I was competitive for 45minutes,and didn't crash,never felt as though the tires were scary.B4 the next race I cut slots in the center bar cuz it was wet,and they were even better,but won't be good in sand or mud.I have wider ones for that.These are the 32's,I ran them at 40psi for cross.I bought these on sale really cheap,so I am happy...

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great tire, kinda heavy
By Marv from Glendale, CA on 8/16/2009
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Puncture Resistant
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Comfort Road Tire:

I just bought my first pair of these tires and find that though they are HEAVY, they are good on hard trails and surfaced roads. I'm not too sure about the cornering - so far no problems, but the tread is not round. If you lay the bike over, it will lose traction - but then just what kind of tourist lays a bike over that far?

[14 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

 
Five thumbs up
By TomVerified Reviewer from Temple, Texas on 5/1/2009
Pros:
Durable
Best Uses:
Commuting/City
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Comfort Oriented
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Comfort Road Tire:

This tire is as good as it gets. I bicycle commute to work and ride about 6K miles per year. I'm now on my 4th set of this tire and have gone 18,000 miles without a flat. I use the 700X32 with a tire liner. About 75% of my riding is in the dark and I don't like flats. This tire is perfect.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Nashbar All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.