Buy the Diamondback Overdrive Sport Mountain Bike on http://www.nashbar.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Diamondback Overdrive Sport Mountain Bike image
 
(based on 15 ratings)
Brand: Diamondback
Located in: Brands, Diamondback
If you're a member of the declining population of riders who still hasn't thrown a leg over a 29er, the Diamondback Overdrive Sport might just be the bike to push you off the fence. This lightweight aluminum bike is a climber and an obstacle-conqueror par excellence. Its easy-rolling 29-inch wheels and 24-speed Shimano drivetrain will take you up, down and around your favorite trail like nobody's business, and the Tektro hydraulic stoppers will let you rein things in before they get outta control.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 15 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(9), Lightweight(3), Versatile(5)
Cons:
Heavy(3)
Best Uses:
Commuting/city(5), Mountain biking(14), Road biking(3)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(9), Casual/ recreational(6)
Cycling Style:
Comfort oriented(9), Speed oriented(5)
Was this a gift?:
No(15)
 
Good deal! Right out of the box.
By Joe the Biker from Hollidaysburg, PA on 8/23/2011
Pros:
Value, Well built quality
Cons:
Heavy, Instructions, Paint color
Best Uses:
Commuting/City, Mountain Biking, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Diamondback Diamondback Overdrive Sport Mountain Bike:

My reference point: I built a Cannondale MB in 1990 with top of the line stuff and it was beautiful and lightweight and strong. Many of the parts came from the hour long drive to the old Nashbar outlet store. It was wearing out and I have kids now and NO time to fix/adjust the bike every time I get the time to ride into the woods.

At the time Cannondale ruled the affordable aluminum bike market (they invented the replaceable derailleur hanger) and I was a bike messenger in Pittsburgh. I grew up in the hills of Pennsyltucky riding every day off road and live there again. After years of hockey and other sports, I wanted to go back to mountain biking, since the hills around here are awesome stuff. I needed a bike that works, is affordable, reasonably lightweight and durable, and this bike is it. It is amazing what I got with this bike for the money compared to the old days: 29" wheels! Disc brakes!
Shocks! Welds almost as nice as my old Cannondale! A comfortable seat! 24 precise speeds!

Now, it is a bit heavy and the tires are wearing out already, but hey, for the money, it's a great deal and I can replace those steel chainrings later and I like the old style pedals: I use clips with no straps.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great rocky trail rider
By Rocky decent from NY... on 8/16/2011
Pros:
Durable
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Comfort Oriented
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Diamondback Diamondback Overdrive Sport Mountain Bike:

Mountain bike a couple times a week and fully enjoy the perfomance in bike. I have had serveral flats and thinking of purchasing a better tube. Friend that has a higher end 26" full suspension bike seems to envy how my 29"er hardtail speeds through and clears many rocky terrains. Overall very happy with purchase.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Buy it now while you have the chance!
By Fat Old Guy on a bike! from Central NY on 8/10/2011
Pros:
Bang for the buck, Durable
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Cycling Style:
Comfort Oriented
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Diamondback Diamondback Overdrive Sport Mountain Bike:

I searched for 2 weeks both locally and on-line. I came across the entry Overdrive at another store for more than this "Sport" model. I bought this bike on a Thursday night and rec'd it on Tuesday. Wasn't hard to assemble. I did have some trouble getting the front deraileur adjusted but back was easy. I took this out tonight for over 2 hours in the rain on muddy trails, over roots, rocks, logs, bridges, streams etc and all I can say is WOW. I put app. 5-7 miles of single trail on this bike tonight and loved every minute. I do not recommend this bike for the road! I have a road bike this is not designed for road work. If your looking for a good MTB, get this 29er today and buy it from Nashbar, the price can't be beat. The hydraulic brakes are amazing. One note: When you hook up the remote lock cable DO NOT cut the cable flush with the housing, instead leave some of the cable sticking out. I cut mine flush and when I "locked" the fork it wouldn't release - the cable was pulled inside the housing and popped out of the little hole it's supposed to be in which jammed it. Leave an extra 1/4 inch sticking out and you won't have this issue. One last comment: If your thinking about buying a cheap full suspension MTB, don't this 29er smooths the trails right out better than one of those bikes.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice bike for the money
By Bob the Newbie from Rochester, MI on 8/10/2011
Pros:
Good value
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Cycling Style:
Comfort Oriented
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Diamondback Diamondback Overdrive Sport Mountain Bike:

Not quite as good on tight trails as the smaller 26" - tried friend's - and definitely recommend leaving enough stand-over clearance!
Great value for the money (remote lock-out is a nice feature) with room to upgrade components as needed.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good deal for the money!
By M. in Philly from Philadelphia, PA on 7/19/2011
Pros:
Durable, Fork Lockout
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting/City, Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Speed Oriented
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Diamondback Diamondback Overdrive Sport Mountain Bike:

Nice solid bike for the $$. Remote fork lockout is a really nice bonus feature. If you don't own a 29er, this is a good one to pick up to try it out.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome Ride
By SteveS from San Diego, CA on 7/19/2011
Pros:
Durable, Versatile
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Speed Oriented
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Diamondback Diamondback Overdrive Sport Mountain Bike:

Great bike at a great price from Nashbar. Nashbar saved me almost $200 dollars from my local sporting store.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Heavy, but a good deal...
By CJ in PCVerified Reviewer from Park City, UT on 7/16/2011
Pros:
Decent components, Inexpensive, Remote Lockout
Cons:
Heavy, Seat Post Slips Easily
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Comfort Oriented
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Diamondback Diamondback Overdrive Sport Mountain Bike:

I use this bike primarily on trails along the Wasatch Front in Utah. So far it has been a great bike. Relatively inexpensive and the components are fairly respectable. My only gripes are the it is a very heavy bike (you get what you pay for) and the seat post/stem are not of the greatest quality - more so than any bike I've had the post will slip if you don't lock it down so tight as to feel like you're going to break something.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike at a Great Price
By Bucket from Virginia Beach on 7/13/2011
Best Uses:
Commuting/City, Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Cycling Style:
Comfort Oriented
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Diamondback Diamondback Overdrive Sport Mountain Bike:

Bike was very easy to assemble, despite the tool list on the box. I just had to put the pedals on, assemble the front wheel and install the cable for the front shock remote lock out after installing the handlebar. Good components, hydraulic brakes and a great price. [...] Overall, a great experience. Highly recommend the bike and Nashbar.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great value for entry into the 29er club
By joncolby from Lafayette, LA on 7/11/2011
Pros:
Durable, Versatile
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Cycling Style:
Comfort Oriented
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Diamondback Diamondback Overdrive Sport Mountain Bike:

Very pleasantly suprised with this 29er. I am a recreational rider on a budget and am more than happy with the quality of bike & components for the price at Nashbar. Ordered it on a Sunday [...]! The bike arrived with only the need for a couple of components left to assemble (front tire, pedals and remote lockout). I am a novice and had it up and running in a couple of hours. I have logged about 30 miles on the local streets, and put about 15 more on the bike trails this weekend. I need to perform the customary tweaks after a bit of use, but this bike has performed very well for my use. I researched several local bike stores as well and finally decided to give this one a go with Nashbar. I could not be more happy with the purchase.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just RIGHT for the price.
By Niate from Bentonville, Arkansas on 6/28/2011
Pros:
Lightweight, Versatile
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Cycling Style:
Comfort Oriented
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Diamondback Diamondback Overdrive Sport Mountain Bike:

I'm happy with it.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent BIke
By The Mad Scientist from Newark, DE on 6/26/2011
Pros:
Adjustable Components, Durable, Excellent Value, Hydraulic disc brakes
Best Uses:
Cross country, Mountain Biking, Single track
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Speed Oriented
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Diamondback Diamondback Overdrive Sport Mountain Bike:

Pleasantly surprised. Had bike assembled and fully adjusted in 2 hours out of box. All components are adjustable and perform well. Hydraulic brakes stop definitively. Seems to be 32lbs assembled so not the lightest, but rides great. Remote lockout on fork is nice feature.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Picture doesn't do it justice
By jkilla71 from Lehigh Valley, Pa on 6/24/2011
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Cycling Style:
Comfort Oriented
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Diamondback Diamondback Overdrive Sport Mountain Bike:

I don't know why this bike is cheaper than the "base" overdrive on other sites because it has the parts from a "Comp". In any case I am very happy, I got a 20% off coupon online and I got this awesome bike for almost nothing, [...]

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Tremendous Deal!
By Bike CamperVerified Reviewer from Disputanta, VA on 6/13/2011
Pros:
Lightweight
Best Uses:
Bike Camping, Mountain Biking, Trail Touring
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Comfort Oriented
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Diamondback Diamondback Overdrive Sport Mountain Bike:

I shopped long and hard at the LBS's and online. This bike offered a combination of features and a price that was absolutely untouchable! I compared it to an Overdrive Comp at the LBS and it is the same bike but with a much more attractive blue paint job. If you are looking into entering the 29er arena, this is the perfect first bike!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best 29"niner on the Market for the $$$
By The OskVerified Reviewer from Scottsdale AZ on 5/13/2011
Pros:
Durable, Rugged, Versatile
Cons:
Weak Spokes
Best Uses:
Commuting/City, Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Speed Oriented
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Diamondback Diamondback Overdrive Sport Mountain Bike:

I always wanted a 29"niner.. I have 2 26" hardtails. I"m 6' 300#, this bike holds up to me fine, but the spokes need to be replaced from time to time on rear wheel, because I work it so hard. I've broken 2 26" frames on my Raleigh M800s this frame really holds up to a beating and the brakes and shocks work well, but not as well as my Magura Hydraulics, but for the $$$ you can't beat this bike.. It's not a 29M Enduro Trail by Ifor $4000 (whichI can't afford) and for only [$] ( I can afford this). I'm planning on getting another one.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Bike; I would actually give a 4.5!
By LynVerified Reviewer from Jacksonville, FL on 5/10/2011
Pros:
Durable, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting/City, Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Speed Oriented
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Diamondback Diamondback Overdrive Sport Mountain Bike:

This bike rocks for me. I stand 6' but it is because I have long legs and I have never felt comfortable or confident on a mountain bike. Since road riding is our passion and we just mountain bike for fun, we don't like to spend a lot for them. This bike really gave me a lot for the money. I love the 29er and I am finally confident in the woods. I definitely feel I got my moneys worth on this bike.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Nashbar All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.