Buy the Nashbar Duro Road Tire on http://www.nashbar.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nashbar Duro Road Tire image
 
(based on 8 ratings)
Brand: Nashbar
Located in: Brands, Nashbar
The Duro is Nashbar's premiere commuting and touring road bike tire.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.5 stars
(based on 8 reviews)
62% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(4)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(6)
 
good reliable tire
By Alan from Dutchess County, New York on 6/21/2011
Pros:
Durable, High pressure, Low Rolling Resistance
Best Uses:
Serious Racing/Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Duro Road Tire:

Have used Nashbar tires for years. Always found them to be reliable, get good mileage too. Not the lightest but I'm not racing. If I was would get something lighter for a race then put these back on for routine training.

Consistent construction too. I'll be buying them as long as they continue to deliver the same good product

 
Good Tire
By Bob from Lyndhurst, Va. on 5/24/2011
Pros:
Inexpensive and it works
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Duro Road Tire:

Inexpensive and it works.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Has been a great tire for me
By DonG from Rhode Island on 10/23/2009
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Grip, Good Cornering, Puncture Resistant
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Duro Road Tire:

I've had great luck with this tire. I use the 700 x 25 on my "third bike" a roadbike that is set up for general riding / commuting. I've put about 1500 miles on them this season, and they still have about 1/2 tread, and I'm a pretty big guy. Seem great, not seating issues, no bulges, no punctures, seem to run true, good grip. They are made by Cheng Shin. Based on the other reviews perhaps the quality varies and I got a good set?

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
poor finish, pops off rims
By fooBarVerified Reviewer from Boston, MA on 10/1/2009
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Duro Road Tire:

I've maybe 40 different tire types in my life, and I've never seen a tire that would pop off the rim randomly. The back jumped off my Mavic Open Pro rim as I inflated it. The front stayed for awhile, but then randomly popped out of the rim, and the tube exploded. I can't believe what garbage these are.

Also, the sidewalls are brown, not tan as the photo shows.

 
Great Tire
By Ralph from Northeast NJ on 9/3/2009
Pros:
Durable, Five weeks and no issues, Good Cornering, Puncture Resistant
Cons:
None yet
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Duro Road Tire:

I use my bike mostly in urban settings like NYC and it's suburbs (if can them suburbs). I have been on this tire five weeks with no complaints. I have run over pebbles and larger rocks too with no problems yet. I commute 20 miles a day. In the past I bought Vittoria tires, which are three to four times more expensive. The more expensive tires were horrible. I would recommend these tires to any road warrior.

 
Cheap is as cheap does
By Davis CommuterVerified Reviewer from Davis CA on 9/2/2009
Cons:
Wears Easily
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Duro Road Tire:

Inexpensive, especially when on sale. Not very durable though. If you get them, make sure you change them before any serious ride. Otherwise you might be miles from home with a blown sidewall...

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
2 out of 4 were defective.
By Trashcan BillVerified Reviewer from michigan on 7/22/2009
Pros:
Low Rolling Resistance
Cons:
Punctures Easily
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Duro Road Tire:

The first one had a pronounced thump when installed and had to be replaced. The sidewall on the second one blew out after only 50 miles. No more for me!

[11 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Solid, steady performer
By Raffyo from Columbus, OH on 4/20/2009
Pros:
Classy, Durable
Best Uses:
Commuting/City, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Cycling Style:
Comfort Oriented
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nashbar Nashbar Duro Road Tire:

Great tire for the price - good all around performer - I found that the tires with the wire beads are a little easier to get on and off the rims - the "folding" tires were especially difficult to get on or off the rim - could be important to consider if you need to do a tire change quickly while out on the road.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Nashbar All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.